top of page

Ramadan in Sweden

Updated: Aug 15, 2022


About the Interviewee

Oumalkhare Ahmed


1. Tell us a little bit about how Muslims in Sweden prepare for Ramadan? Is there anything they do specifically before the first day of Ramadan?


There isn’t anything specific Muslims in Sweden do, other than shopping for food and decorating their homes.


2. How would you describe the overall Ramadan spirit in Sweden? Does it have a different feeling on the streets when you go out in Ramadan?


It depends on the area you live in, for example, I used to live in a small town called Ludvika. In Ludvika, it didn’t even feel like Ramadan, there wasn’t a big Muslim community there, but here in Malmö, it feels more like Ramadan, especially in the area I live in Rosengård where there is a big Muslim community. There are decorations all over the rosengård center, everyone there is in the Ramadan spirit.


3. How does a typical iftar would look like?


A typical iftar looks different as of right now. I live here in Malmö by myself because I moved for university studies. Other Muslim students who live here alone set up iftar group and everyone brings something and we eat together every night.


4. How does a typical suhur (suhoor) would look like?


I don’t really eat suhoor but when I was back at my parent’s place, we either stayed for suhoor or my parents woke us up.


5. Is there any food or drink that is specifically consumed in Ramadan? Yes, please tell us about the deserts.


I don’t think we have food or drinks that are specifically consumed during Ramadan.


6. How do people celebrate Eid al-Fitr?

If I was back with my parents, it would have been Salah and then back home to cook food for family and friends and eat together and exchange gifts. But now its Salah and back to my apartment to sleep and hang out with friends afterward.


7. What makes Sweden special in Ramadan? Tell us about any activities, festivals, bazaars, etc..


I don’t know much about other places in Sweden but in Malmö the day after Eid, they organize an eid festival, it’s mostly for the children.


8. What should travelers expect to experience if they visit Sweden in Ramadan?


I don’t think there is a difference from any other time.


9. If I was visiting Sweden in Ramadan, where would be the best place to have iftar?


In Malmö, Laziza, Mevlana kolgril and in Gothenburg Lilla Istanbul.


10. Anything else you want to share about Ramadan in Sweden?


I don’t think I have anything else to add. Ramadan Kareem.


RAMADAN 2020 PROJECT: Fellow sisters and brothers around the world joined Halal Travel Experts to spread the joy and knowledge of Ramadan. To become a part of this exciting project, email us at blog@halaltravels.com. It is just 10 simple questions but the answers go beyond the oceans.





0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page